Lone Ross



I was born in Ås, Norway, in May 31st 1968. Ås is located in the southern part of Norway, just 30 km south of Oslo. I also grew up in Ås, took my Masters and PhD degrees in Ås (Norwegian University of Life Sciences – NMBU), work now at NIBIO (Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research) in Ås and I live in Ås with my family; husband Terje, daughter Helle (18yrs) and son Henrik (soon to be 17yrs).  I could also add that my father and grandfather also took their masters at NMBU, and that my father even is a wood technologist and have been working at NIBIO for many years. This may imply that I am not very adventurous, obviously feel comfortable with traditions and enjoy very stable surroundings, but I choose to look upon it as Ås is the perfect place to live and work, and that forestry and wood science are the most interesting work areas of all! J


Silviculture and forest biology were my main subjects when studying at NMBU and I completed a Masters degree in Forest Pathology in 1995. After finishing my Masters I worked a short time at the Norwegian Forest Research Institute (now NIBIO), before holding a position at Mycoteam from 1996 to 2010 as an Advisor and later as a Laboratory Manager. Mycoteam is a private company performing consulting work, making inspections, running performance and product tests, research and offers courses within the area of building mycology, building ecology, wood-moisture relationship and more. At Mycoteam I experienced and learned how materials perform in real life – in buildings and other applications – and not only wood, but all types of building materials. Furthermore I got a very good introduction to and experience with building physics and building ecology. Still in-situ and practical application of materials, now especially wood, are very close to my heart and I often prefer to do research that is close to or in-situ where wood and wood based materials are used.

In 2005 I wanted to concentrate more on one or two defined areas of research – and therefore I chose to write a proposal for a PhD within the area of blue stain fungi on coated and uncoated wooden cladding. I was very fortunate to be granted the funding and received my PhD degree in 2009 with the thesis ‘Surface mould growth on painted and unpainted wood - influencing factors, modelling and aesthetic service life’. During my PhD I continued to work part time at Mycoteam, but when finishing my PhD I chose to accept the offer of a researcher position at Norwegian Institute of Forest and Landscape Institute (now NIBIO).


I work in the Department of Wood Technology where Erik Larnøy (an IRG-WP member) is department head, and among my co-workers I have several fellow IRG-WP members; Gry Alfredsen, Katrin Zimmer, Andreas Treu and Greeley Beck.

I have had the opportunity to travel and stay in the US on three different occasions, each for 7-8 months. In 1994, as part of my masters, I studied forest genetics and other forest related courses at North Carolina State University, Raleigh, and was so lucky to attend one of the courses given by belated Prof. Bruce Zobel. In 2007, during my PhD studies, I visited the research group of Carol Clausen at the Forest Products Laboratory, Madison, Wisconsin. My last research stay was at Oregon State University, Corvallis, with Prof. Jeff Morrell as my host. All these stays abroad have been very interesting and important for my research, and I am very grateful to my hosts, co-workers and fellow students that took so good care of me there. 


In my spare time I enjoy cooking and reading, and try to do some sort of activity 2-3 times a week such as running, hiking, dancing or other forms of fitness. During wintertime – IF there is snow – I enjoy doing cross country skiing. This winter I bought spike tires for my bike so now I have no excuse not to bike to work every day. When it comes to music I enjoy listening to many different genres – from classic music (mainly due to my link to several choirs) to jazz and pop. R&B, rock and salsa/Latino dance music are probably my favorites since I enjoy dancing. Vacations are normally divided between our summer cabin by Oslofjorden or at the farm in Luster, located by Sognefjorden in the western part of Norway.


My first experience with IRG-WP was in 2004 when I attended my first Annual Meeting in Ljubljana, Slovenia, and I have attended every Annual Meeting, except for 2005, since then. In a way I have ‘grown’ into my research area within the organization throughout these years, and I am very grateful for the scientific collaboration and friendships that I have formed with members of IRG-WP and within the IRG-WP community. I have had the chance to serve as member of the Communication Committee and the Executive Council, and I am now ready to serve as Vice-President the next 3 years. I am very happy for the support I have received from many within the organization, and I look forward to follow and form the future of IRG-WP.


This bio was written for the August 2016 IRG newsletter.